Happy people smiling


Legal Aid Society's leadership is comprised of seasoned professional and advocates who share a passion for social justice and a dedication to providing legal help to those in need. With a wealth of experience in diverse fields, our leaders bring a depth of knowledge that drives our mission forward.

Together, we strive to ensure equal access to justice, championing the rights of the marginalized and underserved. Meet the faces behind our impactful initiatives and discover the driving force that propels the Legal Aid Society towards a more just and equitable society.

Executive Team

DK 2

DarKenya W. Waller

Executive Director
Sue Kay

Susan L. Kay

Board of Directors President

Vanderbilt University Law School


Zac Oswald

Sr. Deputy Director of Client Services

Kalyne Renda

Deputy Director of Development and Community Engagement

Paul Swiney

Deputy Director of Operations

Shaina Castillo

Executive Project Specialist

Board of Directors Officers

Walter H. Stubbs

First Vice President

Sumner County Bar Association

Katie Bell Klinghard

Second Vice President

Montgomery County Bar Association

David A. Weil

Third Vice President

Other Member

Mozianio “Trey” S. Reliford


Napier Looby Bar Association

Adrie M. Rhodes


Nashville Community Board Member

James L. Weatherly, Jr.

Member at Large

J. Andrew Goddard

Past President

Nashville Bar Association

Board Members

Charita Bennett

Gallatin Community Board Member


John Blankenship

Tennessee Bar Association


Traci Brooks

Tullahoma Community Board Member


Jim Conley

Coffee County Bar Association


Sharon Crane

Oak Ridge Community Board Member


Diane Davis

Columbia Community Board Member


Josh Hill

Young Leaders Council Board Intern


Cameron Hoffmeyer

Lawrence County Bar Association


Brad Hornsby

Rutherford-Cannon Bar Association


Tessa Lawson

Putnam County Bar Association


Joel Lucas

Murfreesboro Community Board Member


Misty Phy

Cookeville Community Board Member


Erin Palmer Polly

Tennessee Bar Association


Christina Sanders

Clarksville Community Board Member

Sal Varsalona

Anderson County Bar Association


Katie Mathews Zipper

Williamson County Bar Association